Balancing Motherhood and a Writing Career Is the Best Decision I’ve Ever Made

Aymes Sarah
4 min readJan 6, 2020

How starting a writing career gave me my self-worth back

Image by Paige Cody on Unsplash

I have been a stay-at-home mother and military wife for two years. When I left the working world, I left behind an important part of my identity.

I have been working since my first job on a farm at the age of 14. Working has always given me a purpose. I am a perfectionist in the workplace and I enjoy being a part of a team.

In my 20s, I worked as a nursing assistant and enjoyed success in the workplace. Unfortunately, after a diagnosis of cervical osteoarthritis, I could no longer work in the medical field. I had to go back to school to switch careers.

I became happily pregnant with my daughter during school. Only 15 days before my due date, I graduated from college with an honors distinction.

A major life change

When I became a stay-at-home mom, it was a different kind of work. It was hard work, rewarding, but solitary. I loved being a mother but the days were long and there wasn't any monetary reward. It was a very different world than the one I had become accustomed to.

I own a border collie. They are a herding breed that thrives off of hard work and accomplishment. When a working dog doesn’t have a job…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!