Channeling Your Ambition When You Are a Writer and Parent Who Works from Home

Aymes Sarah
4 min readDec 14, 2019

We are living the dream!

Image courtesy of Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Writing is a self-governing job that requires you to pull motivation from within. I recently began my career as a writer and I am a stay-at-home mother. Being a stay-at-home parent is also a job that requires you to push yourself daily to get things done. This dual role requires us to keep our motivation level elevated!

I am learning every day to keep a balance between work and home while still leaving some time for self-care.

Willow helping me with this article, before the title change!

Here are some ways that I have been staying on track and turning out quality work both in the home and on my laptop.

  • Many successful parents/entrepreneurs recommend setting your alarm for earlier than your children wake up. This can give you time to get ready for the day, plan meals, meditate, or just have a relaxing cup of tea before the chaos begins. I will be honest, I do not do this because my daughter wakes up at 5:30 a.m! However, it is a productive way to start the morning.
  • When you wake up in the morning, get dressed, comb your hair, and brush your teeth. Prepare yourself as you are going to…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!