From Surviving to Thriving: How I Healed After an Abusive Relationship

Aymes Sarah
6 min readJan 9, 2020

Tips on discarding your emotional baggage from a survivor

Image by Caroline Veronez on Unsplash

Eight years ago, I was an emotional wreck. The man I was engaged to had become mentally abusive to me, physically abusive to our dog, and manipulative to his rotten core.

He had Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder from war and I always made excuses for him. I felt I couldn’t leave him because he was so sick. It was a complete shock when he broke up with me to pursue “younger women”. I was 25 years old.

I left that relationship feeling broken inside, a shell of my former self. However, I packed up and left with my pride, I didn’t beg him to take me back. That’s not my style. Never fear animal lovers, I took my dog Lucky with me!

Initially, I was devastated by this “loss”. After a few weeks, I realized I was more upset about the way Lucky and I had been treated than the loss of the actual relationship.

So what did I do? I began dating again. I thought there was no way I could find someone worse than I already have.

Naturally, I was attracting the same type of men: Egotistical, self-centered, and vain. They were mirror images of my ex.

For the first time in my life, I decided to see a therapist. He was amazing and he really…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!