How Anxiety Can Make Us Better People

Aymes Sarah
4 min readDec 16, 2019

Being “tuned-in” is our superpower!

Image by Eleonora Patricola on Unsplash

When we suffer from anxiety, it can be debilitating. It can affect our lives in ways that are negative and poisonous. However, when harnessed, I believe it also gives us an advantage.

I have had anxiety for several years, it peaked when an ex-boyfriend went to fight in Afghanistan with the military. Initially, I did not know what was happening. I worried about everything! This continued even after he came back safe. It was as if I looked for things to worry about. Worrying can be addictive and it is almost like a maze in your mind you cannot escape. I was diagnosed with anxiety, received medical treatment, and sought therapy.

In regards to mental health issues, getting treatment always improves your life. Anxiety never fully goes away, its always there lurking in the background. By thinking positive, I have learned to see the benefits of being hyper-aware.

I have noticed that my anxiety has taught me empathy. Also, I am more productive and proactive. Perhaps I am putting a silver lining on my struggle. However, once I changed my way of viewing it, anxiety has improved my life in many ways.

If you suffer from anxiety, you may not notice yourself growing after treatment and your anxiety becoming a part of who you are. It is changing the way you

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!