How I Ended my Friendship with a Narcissist

Aymes Sarah
6 min readJan 8, 2020

The parasitic nature of a narcissistic person, how to spot one, and what scares them the most

Image by Alex Iby on Unsplash

A few years ago I met a girl at a party. She was vibrant, hilarious, and loved animals. She had so many good qualities and literally lit up a room. This would be my first experience with a narcissist and I had no idea.

We became fast friends and we were inseparable. While I noticed some things about her behavior I didn’t like, I made excuses for her. She suffered from mental illness and I attributed her behavior to the demons she was dealing with.

Eventually, I introduced her to a guy and they became serious quickly. He was a good person, an empath like me. However, they had a very tumultuous relationship.

After a couple of years, they broke up and I was left to pick the pieces. Initially, I didn’t mind being there to console her. That’s what girlfriends do! I went to her house, made grocery runs, and cooked her dinner. However, it was never enough for her.

She called me crying multiple times a day, for weeks. I began to feel drained and irritable. My fiance became concerned about the amount of time and energy she was taking from me. I realized that I had to put some boundaries in place if our friendship was going to survive.

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!