How to Be an Emotional Support Canadian for Your American Friends

We stand on guard for thee

Aymes Sarah
5 min readJan 7, 2021
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I was inspired to write about this because of what is happening in America right now. Whenever anything goes down in the states, there are memes that appear on social media about finding your “Emotional Support Canadian”.

I am Canadian and let me tell you, I am proud that Canada is looked at as a support country for America. It may not feel like it right now, but you have a great country and we are happy to be your allies.

Many of my good friends that I met through writing groups on Facebook are in America, and I know they are hurting right now. And while I can’t take their pain away, I can be there for them as an “Emotional Support Canadian”.

What Is an Emotional Support Canadian?

An Emotional Support Canadian is a Canadian who offers their emotional support to an American. Simple. We are here to listen, and we are an unofficial and self-appointed sidekick to our neighbors.

This term was coined in late 2020 by a Twitter user named “Canadian Fletchy”. He Tweeted that Emotional Support Canadians were available on standby during the U.S election.

And we still are.

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!