How to Cope While Waiting on Medical Test Results

Rule #1 Don’t do any of the things I’m doing!

Aymes Sarah
5 min readApr 14, 2023
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I haven’t written about anything personal in a while. Between work, keeping our daughter on track, and everything else, I am spent. But I am having a tough time and how I center myself is usually by writing it out, so here I am! Writing has got me through some tough times, and I am sure this will be no exception.

Pain, Bloating, and Waiting

So about a year ago I started noticing some things off with my body. Notoriously, my body lets me down on the regular so I just ignored them. Night sweats, extreme fatigue, feeling full after eating a little meal. All things that I could attribute to either my fibromyalgia or my beta blockers. Well a week ago today I started getting symptoms I could no longer ignore…

I have had searing pain, radiating all over my abdomen, constant bathroom trips, and a belly so swollen you would swear I am with child. I went to the ER and they performed an ultrasound, offered me morphine (which I declined), and sent me home.

Due to severe pain, I ended up going back to a different hospital on Saturday where the doctor ordered a CT scan. I was called in almost immediately after Easter and now I am waiting…and waiting on the results.

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!