How to Cope with Chronic Pain in Your 20’s and 30's

Aymes Sarah
4 min readDec 10, 2019

Awaken the fighter within!

Image by Sarah Cervantes

Being young and having chronic pain is a real letdown. You wait your entire life to “grow up”, just to feel much older than your years when that time finally comes.

The people who love you want to understand how you feel. Unfortunately, unless they have been there, it is hard for anyone to understand what it feels like to live with pain. Many of us have had to give up careers we love, hobbies we enjoyed, or even having children because of a chronic illness.

I have osteoarthritis in my neck and lumbar spine. I was 31 when I was diagnosed by my general practitioner. Due to the degenerative nature of my condition, I had to leave my job as a nursing assistant. I loved working with the elderly, but the pain in my body had become unbearable so I needed to switch careers.

I am happy with the changes that I have made and I am now a mother. The decision to have a child was easy for me, I’ve always wanted children. However, for people who have more serious ailments, some cannot have children at all. This is another good reason not to ask someone when they are having children.

I believe everyone has struggled in this life. I have a wonderful husband and a great support system but my struggle is the pain that I feel in my neck, back and now…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!