Getting a Second Chance After Making a Bad First Impression

Aymes Sarah
5 min readDec 23, 2019

Tips on making amends and successful first interactions

Image by Alexis Brown on Unsplash

I consider myself a friendly person who gets along with people. I am pretty intuitive as well, I can read people like a book. However, I’m also admittedly a stubborn person. If someone really rubs me the wrong way, I have a hard time forgetting that first meeting. Chances are, it probably made my skin crawl. Since I am an empath, I find unpleasant interactions very disturbing. However, I believe in giving second chances. Especially if the person is willing to redeem themselves and take responsibility for their behavior.

Studies show that we make snap judgments about other people. 80% of first impressions are based on two subconscious questions: Can I trust this person? Is this person capable?^1

When you meet someone for the first time, you are both analyzing each other. We are observing each other’s behavior to see if there is mutual respect. We are noticing their appearance, the way they listen, and especially how they respond in conversation. Essentially, we are trying to figure out if this person is someone we want to be…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!