How to Help Your Partner Through the Darkness of Depression

You can help fight the battle but it’s not your war to win

Aymes Sarah
4 min readJan 28, 2020
Image by Jose Chomali on Unsplash

Two years ago, I was diagnosed with Post-Partum Obsessive Compulsive Disorder after a traumatic birth. Subsequently, I developed depression after too many medication switches. It was unbearable.

My husband was amazing and helped me get through the roughest days. Therapy and finding the right medication was the cure. However, his support was paramount.

He never judged me, scolded me, or told me to “get over it”. He was very empathetic and compassionate. Even though I’m sure there were days he didn’t feel like being my hero, he was.

In traditional marriage vows, they say “in sickness or in health”. He took this very seriously while also holding me accountable when I was being unreasonable.

It is the hardest thing in the world to see someone you love struggle and hurt and not be able to fix them.

There will be light at the end of this tunnel. You cannot fix your partner but there are a few things you can do to make this difficult time easier for them.

Encourage them to get help ASAP

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!