I Am Writing Through Grief After Losing My Dog and It Is Difficult

Aymes Sarah
4 min readJan 21, 2020

A personal story of writer’s block during a time of transition

Image by Radu Florin on Unsplash

Last Thursday, I experienced the death of someone very close to me for the first time in my life. I had to euthanize my best friend, my border collie Lucky.

Lucky was very sick and I made the right choice to let him go, but my heart feels like it has been ripped out and stomped into the ground.

I realize that I am fortunate to be 35 and going through this struggle now instead of when I was younger. I realize he wasn’t a human being.

However, this is my first true heartbreak over death and I am suffering.

I started writing as a career on December 8th, 2019. Since that day, I have had a steady flow of ideas, to the point that I had to make a list on my phone so I wouldn’t forget them all.

The list on my phone is full of ideas I am not passionate about right now. I decided to write about how I’m feeling instead.

It may not be read or recognized by anyone, but maybe it will help me purge this darkness inside of me.

I need to claw my way out of this abyss.

In my first month of freelance writing, I have been published by “The Startup” and had an article written about my…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!