If You Are Only Writing on Medium to Make Money: You Shouldn’t Be Here

Aymes Sarah
5 min readJun 29, 2020

Medium is not a get-rich-quick-scheme and our career is worth more than money

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Since the pandemic began, we have all noticed the influx of new writers who have joined our platform.

It’s awesome to see people taking the plunge and starting their writing career. After all, we have all been “newbies” on Medium at one time.

I’ve been on this platform since last year and I’m still learning new things every day, even after writing 100 articles on Medium, I am new to Medium.

I love seeing people digging their heels in, ready to engage, and network. I love seeing people writing great content and excelling.

What I don’t love is the small population of writers who think Medium is a “get-rich-quick-scheme”.

They are throwing tag bombs around, tagging many people in a post to increase readers (thanks to Kristi Keller for giving this “marketing strategy” a name and making me laugh yesterday). They are dropping links under more prominent writers' posts on Facebook groups.

Riding other people’s coat-tails is not the way to get noticed here.

Recently, I witnessed a new writer make a post on a private Facebook group and ask what people didn’t like about Medium, he

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!