Our Facebook Medium Community Has Changed: Toxic Posting Practices and What to Do Instead

Aymes Sarah
4 min readMay 22, 2020

We can improve our social media morale!

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

This is a “hot-take” that not everyone is going to agree with. I am not a polarizing or controversial writer. In fact, I try to avoid rocking the boat. I admire those who can write in that style but it's not me. This piece is going to be in my own voice instead of my self-help kumbaya voice.

I feel bad because I don’t want to alienate anyone but I think some people are in need of a serious wake-up call.

I have been a member of Facebook Medium-related groups for a while. I’m kind of a lurker, only posting when I feel it to be necessary.

Since the pandemic began, I have noticed a shift in the attitude of some of our writers.

This isn’t about anyone in particular, but some people are not realizing the impact they are having on others by their online actions.

I don’t want our social media community to become toxic.

Let people have their moments of accomplishment!

The first thing I’ve noticed is negativity running rampant under the posts of new writers.

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!