The 10 Lessons I Have Learned From Researching True Crime for a Decade

Aymes Sarah
15 min readJun 19, 2020

Stay alert and stay safe!

Photo credit: Gabrielle Dickson on Unsplash

I don't know how I lived without the internet as long as I did. I love having thousands of pages of facts at my fingertips. My favorite research topic is true crime.

Due to the dark turn the world has taken, I’ve been avoiding researching the “dark side” as much as I used to.

For ten years, I spent three to four hours a night researching missing person and homicide cases. If you name a missing person from Canada, I can picture their face in my head and tell you facts about their case.

I know, you probably think I am strange.

I have always thought I was a missing person in my past life or maybe I would help find someone someday. There has to be a reason for my obsession, right?

In my ten years of research in this area, I have learned a lot about personal safety, our society, and life that I wanted to share with the world.

“If you have knowledge,let others light their candles in it” -Margaret Fuller

Marginalized People Are Often Overlooked

I used to think this was strictly ethnicity-based and in some cases, it is. However, the majority of the time, the missing person and…

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!