The Important Role of a “Support Person” During a Funeral Service

Aymes Sarah
4 min readJan 10, 2020

I’m celebrating the unsung heroes of this difficult time and offering 8 ways to be an excellent support person

Image by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

The “support person” is a role that typically goes unnoticed in the chaos of grief.

Unfortunately, I have been to many funerals and I’ve noticed there is always someone who helps the family the most in their time of loss. This is their support person.

I will state the obvious and say funerals are difficult. They are a public affair and all eyes are on the mourners.

A couple of years ago, my cousins lost their father. One of these cousins is also my best friend, she’s married and has two children.

She is a very strong person but losing a parent is gut-wrenching, she was devastated. She helped plan the funeral and was with him when he passed away. This was her time to grieve the loss of someone she loved dearly.

Naturally, her husband was at the funeral. He was so attentive to her and her family. He made conversation with the attendees, while keeping an eye on his wife and her immediate family.

I noticed him jumping in to handle anything that would be an inconvenience to the grieving family. I thought he was an excellent support person.

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!