Why You Should Stop Publicly Discrediting Publications on Social Media

Aymes Sarah
4 min readJun 6, 2020

Don’t bite the hands that are feeding you!

Photo by Alberto Bigoni on Unsplash

If you have been on the Medium Facebook groups lately, you have probably noticed negative posts about publications not publishing a someone’s work quickly enough or (gasp!) not at all.

Honestly, when I look at who is posting these “observations”, it is writers that are new to Medium. Fair enough, they are new and curious, but even more disturbing? The people replying and discrediting these publications are also very new to Medium.

I’m serious, their profile usually says “Medium member since April 2020” new.

How can you comment on a workplace that you’ve only been at for one month? Especially when that workplace is not tangible, it’s an online machine.

One publication seems to be getting the brunt of these public lashings. I’m not going to say who it is but I write for them and yes they have published my work when I sent them an article.

There is an online legion of writers who say this publication is using people for followers by adding them as writers and not publishing their work.

This is possible, but when I look at their publication, there are many quality articles posted daily. As well, I have been published by them myself.

--

--

Aymes Sarah

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!